Graduating senior testimony: Fallon Forbush

Standard

 

Q: Name, year, major(s)

Fallon William Forbush, senior, public relations major, minoring in journalism writing, political science and speech communication

Q: Where will you be working this summer and what will you be doing?

I’ll be interning full time at U.S. Sen. Sherrod Brown’s press office on Capitol Hill. He’s one of two senators representing Ohio in Congress.  I’ll be working under his press secretary helping her and the rest of the communication staff with phone calls, speaking with media contacts and drafting press releases.  Who knows what I’ll get into? Other than that, all I know is that I have to report at 8:30 in the morning ready to go.

Q: How does it feel to already have plans lined up for the summer after graduation?

You remember when you got your acceptance letter for college senior year of high school?  Yeah, it’s kind of like that.  Even though I’m still waiting to hear back to see if I got accepted to law school and the internship won’t be my first “real” job, it’s relieving to know that I’ll be doing something with my degree.

Q: What part of your education and experience gained through Otterbein do you think got you a job before graduation?

I’ve had six internships and they’ve all helped me so much.  I know more of what I want to do and I’ve worked with people and I’ve thought to myself, “I want your job.”  I can’t say it too many times: intern.  From my experience, if you want an internship that’s more than just fetching coffee, you have to know what you’re doing.  Editors, campaign directors, public relations managers — they don’t have time to micromanage their interns.  Definitely, I’ve learned a lot from all of them, but I’ve gotten the opportunity to work with them because I’ve had the chance to write, edit and produce right here on campus.  I know I wouldn’t have gotten to do any of my internships without working on the Tan & Cardinal or Otterbein360. Not being a part of PRSSA can sometimes get your resume thrown out before they even look at it in the world of PR. In short, get involved on campus and intern.
  
Q: What all have you been involved in at Otterbein?

Tan & Cardinal, Otterbein360 and PRSSA

Q: What is the best lesson you’ve learned in these four years?

1) In order to be a journalist, you have to have the right temperament. 2) Leave yourself open to new things and new people. I was never one to just major in one thing and stick my blinders up. I like variety and I think my dabbling in PR and journalism actually gives me greater understanding of the two fields. 3) It’s really obnoxious when I hear PR students say that they hate writing and they complain about taking journalism classes. Every PR pro who has a job will say that you have to be a good writer. 4) Act like you know what you’re doing, even if you don’t. That’s how you learn. 

Q: Any other advice for the rest of us?

If you do your best in class, the professors will take good care of you. Use your resources here on campus.  The professors here — in communications at least — really took me under their wing and introduced me to a lot of people who made things happen.  I didn’t always know what I was doing and being the naive guy in DC will probably be challenging, but they really pushed me to be better. If you pick their brains and try to learn from their experience, I’m sure they can bring the professional out in you too.

Leave a Reply

