PRSSA National Conference 2010

Standard

By Jordan Roberts, senior, public relations major

When I walked into the 2010 PRSSA National Conference I had no idea what to expect. I had never been to conference before and I wasn’t sure what the sessions would really consist of. I was surprised to find out how entertaining and beneficial the sessions were.

The speakers that I listened to were excellent. The keynote speaker, Jim Margolis, was extremely captivating. He gave us a clear idea of what it is like working in public relations, in politics. I sat in on a session about White House Communications with Taylor Griffin and Bob Lehrman. It was interesting to hear about the daily life of a political speech writer. I was surprised to learn that communications in the White House starts at 4 a.m. What an early day!

I learned the most at conference during the social networking event. I met with several professionals who talked about interviewing processes, resumes, public affairs, portfolios, etc. It was really great to obtain all the professional advice, and each professional had something new or intriguing to teach us. It was extremely beneficial especially for us seniors who are getting ready to search for jobs.

When National Conference was over, I felt more confident about entering the work force and more confident in my knowledge of the field of communications. I networked with a lot of professionals and even made some new contacts among my PRSSA peers. It was a great experience and I recommend it to all communication students!

Leave a Reply

